God’s law > Man’s law

12 Jul

I’m not a political person, and in fact, I’m normally the last person to voice my political agenda in any forum, whether on my blog, on facebook, or in a small talk chat over coffee.  It’s just something that I consider personal and to be quite honest, I’m still forming my opinions about many issues as I mature in adulthood (complicated even more by the fact I’m now a parent and have a whole new set of concerns and opinions regarding THAT).  I read a quote the other day, however, that I feel urged to share because I think it’s shaped my opinions a little bit as we head into election season in our country.

“Do not judge a person because they sin differently than you do.”

I hope you will chew on that for a while and let your opinions about people be influenced by a spirit of grace and humility, considering no matter how much you look down on someone or disagree with them, they are no more sinful in nature than you are. God doesn’t hold you higher than them, so how can you rightfully hold yourself higher than them?

There are a lot of issues swirling around in our country right now that pertain to individuals’ character, life choices and decisions and actions that are extreme personal struggles and/or resolutions. Because of that quote, I choose to not form critical opinions about these people (hate the sin, not the sinner) but I will continue to seek out politicians that not only embody that spirit of grace (wouldn’t it be a nice if a politician of that nature were to surface in our country?) and politicians that base their decisions on Christian principles and upholding a government with laws based on striving to be sinless in a sinful world.

What I mean is, I won’t advocate a politician who votes for a law that promotes sinful behavior.

That doesn’t mean I’m without sin myself. I’m as sinful as they come. I’m wrong 100x more than I’m right in God’s eyes. But I serve a forgiving God and no sin that I commit is worse or better than the sin of my neighbor. It’s just sin. And it’s ugly in the eyes of God. So if scripture says “No no” to something, that will influence my vote this fall.  And unfortunately, in the tangled (and very sinful) world of politics, there are times that you must choose a lesser of two evils approach. Again, not to say that one sin is “less bad” than another sin, but it is critical to weigh out the influence that a law or endorsement will bring about. If a law goes into effect that will validate a wave of sinful behavior that God is explicitly against in scripture, I will not vote for the politician that endorses it.

Think of it this way: On the day of a federal trial, the judge said to a witness in a murder or rape trial “Tell us whatever story you like the best that will result in the outcome that benefits you the most, even if that means telling a bold faced lie” instead of “Do you solemnly swear to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help you God?” That judge would be advocating a sin that God specifically condemns in the Ten Commandments (Thou shalt not lie). If that were the common practice because our government advocates the sin of lying, it would result in an upheaval of our judicial system and criminals would never be given just punishment for their crimes, which would be indeterminable based on the lack of a standard of truth. I’m certainly not suggesting that witnesses always tell the truth (we know that’s not the case, unfortunately) but the underlying governance is that you are expected to act according to FIRST the laws set by God, THEN the laws set by man. And the laws set by man should be based upon the laws set by God. The end.

I don’t need to be any more explicit than that regarding what kind of laws I’m talking about that will influence my vote. And again, please remember that it’s not because I’m judgemental or hateful or insensitive. It’s because God is bigger than any Commander in Chief, and he can lead our country in a much better way than any politician can. So, when God says “No no” to something, I’ll base my vote upon whoever adheres to God’s commands the closest.

I urge you to consider your feelings regarding how you want to choose our country’s leader. Turn the tables around, and consider some other commands made by God that our government could oppose by enacting laws that dishonor those commands (stealing is OK; cheat on your spouse all you want; kill whomever you need to kill to get ahead… you get it). And whatever side of the fence you fall on, I hope you will remember not to judge those on the other side of the fence because they sin differently then you.

“For ALL have sinned and fall short of the glory of God…” – Romans 3:23

“If you love me, you will keep my commandments” – John 14:15

 

“The book of the law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your ways prosperous and then you will have good success.” – Joshua 1:8

 

2 Responses to “God’s law > Man’s law”

  1. Shelba J. July 12, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    Courtney,
    Really well written and thought out! xoxo

  2. Angelica July 14, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Depends on what you consider “sin”. There are many Christians who claim to love thy neighbor and then turn right around and attack homosexuals. There are also those who seem to conveniently forget the Bible entirely and pick and choose their favorite verses to live by. I remember there being something about stoning women who are unmarried and no longer virgins…?
    I will vote for someone who embraces all religions, all peoples, and all colors of the world. A leader who plays favorites in a melting pot society of cultures is a leader who blindly believes that America is still a one-religion nation.
    There are Muslims, Hindus, Jewish people, Satanists, Wicca, Pagans, agnostics, atheists, nihilists, and many more people who do not adhere to your Christian faith, who will be speaking for a mixed nation all their own this election. Your sin stems from the Bible, which, although beautifully written, is a terribly dated source of humanity.

Leave a Reply

