Mi casa e su casa

13 Aug

There’s about to be a new blog category on this here old blog!! That’s right, folks, Stockton and I are smack dab in the middle of the home-buying process and will close on our new abode in just about 2 weeks.

::yayyyyyyyyy::

While I obviously can’t say too much at this point without jinxing myself and totally crumbling the deal, I can say one thing I am certainly looking forward to in the new place, and that is having an office that isn’t in the basement. Lame-ish? Yes. But when you spend as many hours as I do in the lower level of your home, under the earth, where your only company all day is a chipmunk in the window well, you get what I mean. My business is moving more and more from heavy production & at-the-machine-all-day caliber sewing to heavy web maintenance and at-the-computer-all-day customer relations. It’s been great moving toward more retail and monogramming and less construction of goods, and with the change I think I actually get to be promoted to an above-ground office space! Whee!!!! My machines will still get plenty of use in our new basement, but the new place has a basement made for entertaining and I want to use it for that. Embroidery machines and millions of desks and production stations get in the way of cocktail hour, if you know what I’m sayin. So we’ll dedicate a smaller portion of the basement to production and leave the clerical and office work to the upstairs office which I’ll even “share” with my beau. I use the term share loosely here, but it will indeed be his space as well for when he’s home from his ACTUAL office. Really more than anything, that means he’ll pay the bills at our shared desk once a month and leave his briefcase somewhere in the room overnight. I don’t think we’ll get in each other’s hair too much, which is a vital clause to our marital health and was even written as a vow in our wedding: I, Courtney, promise to leave you, Stockton, alone whenever we are working or getting remotely close to annoying one another. Vice versa, ditto, amen. So the shared office will be a test of that, but I’m sure it’ll be great.

Additionally, my parents are moving at the exact same time as us, which means we get to inherit this amazing Pottery Barn desk which I’m absolutely cray-cray for and will be the perfect shared workspace for us.

Screen shot 2013-08-13 at 7.29.34 AM

The only thing that will be different about our office will be the furniture configuration and the stools, because since I’ll be sitting at that desk for a large portion of every day, I’ll need something with a tad more support. I’m lusting over these bad boys, so if anyone wants to spend $541 a piece on desk stools for me, they can be found at Ballard.com and I would be ever so grateful. I might even monogram something for you.

Screen shot 2013-08-13 at 7.30.40 AM

They are lovely and perfect, but ain’t nobody got time for over $1000 worth of stools, so I’ll be continuing my search elsewhere (like the county dump).

We have the ladder shelves as shown in the desk photo above also, so that will help us with all the odds and ends that two people require in an office space.

So there you have it – the first room inspiration and furniture find for our new home. You may not hear much more about the new house until we close on it (y’know, for anti-jinxing purposes) but at least you can consider yourself warned for when the onslaught of home-related posts begin!

Leave a Reply

